It can be an extremely emotional and confusing time when a loved one is
arrested. Our blog can provide the information you need to find a person
who has been arrested or to visit a loved one in prison.
How to Find Someone in Jail
If a loved one has been arrested, you will need to either
visit the HPD website or the Harris County Sheriff’s website http://www.harriscountyso.org/inmateinfo.aspx
or call the Houston Help Line (713) 837-0311. By providing an inmate’s
name, birth date, or social security number, a representative will be
able to help you determine if your loved one is in the City of Houston
Jail or if they have been transferred to the Harris County Jail. If a
person’s charges are for a class B misdemeanor or higher and they
are not bailed out within 24 hours, they will be moved to the Harris County
Jail. A representative will provide you with information on your loved
one’s bond amount. If available, posting bond can help you secure
their release. For more information, visit the
HPD’s Public Information FAQ page.
If the person you are looking for is under the age of 17, they will be
held at the Houston Police Department Juvenile Division or the Harris
County Juvenile Detention Center. Their phone number is (832) 394-1828.
How Do I Post Bond?
Once you have obtained the bond information, you will need to print out
the page from the jail’s website or write down the prisoner’s
name, date of birth, location, and arrest number. Bail Bonds can be paid
at a bail bond agency of your choosing or you can pay the cash bond at
49 San Jacinto.
Bonds for City of Houston municipal charges are handled The Municipal Court,
located at 1400 Lubbock Street, Houston, Texas 77002. Bonds for charges
in Harris County are handled at the Harris County Bond Office at 49 San
Jacinto, Houston, Texas 77002.
Once bond has been posted, a person will be released under the condition
that they return to court on their established court date. A cash bond
will be returned to the payer once the case is resolved. If a defendant
does not appear in court as instructed, a warrant will be issued for their
arrest and the entire amount of the bond will be forfeited.
What are the Harris County Jail’s Visiting Hours?
Those who wish to visit an inmate at the Harris County Jail may do so if
permitted by the Harris County Jail visitation schedule. Visitors must
be 17 years of age or older and must have valid identification. Anyone
under age 17 must be accompanied by an adult, with up to two adults and
two children visiting an inmate at a time. Inmates are only allowed a
20 minute visit each day.
An inmate may receive visitors at the following times:
Monday: No visits
Tuesday: 4pm – 9pm
Wednesday: 4pm – 9pm
Thursday: No visits
Friday: No visits
Saturday: 3:30pm – 9pm
Sunday: 3:30pm – 9pm
Hard-Hitting Criminal Defense Attorney in Houston
If you or a loved one have been charged with a crime, it is imperative
that you enlist the services of a skilled
criminal defense attorney to protect your future and reputation. At Stornello Law Firm,
PC, our lawyers have defended countless clients throughout Houston and
Harris County and can use our vast legal knowledge to advocate for a reduction
or dismissal of your charges. With more than 25 years’ of combined
experience and having earned a
Super Laywers® designation for our excellence, we can provide the results-driven advocacy you need.
Get started today by calling (281) 369-4506 or by contacting our office online. We proudly offer free consultations
to all first-time clients.