First-Time DWI Arrests in Houston
Arrested for Drunk Driving in Fort Bend or Harris County?
If you are facing charges of driving while intoxicated (DWI), you need
to take action.
DWI is not merely a traffic offense; it's a crime, one that can lead to serious
penalties and a stigma that can follow you for years into the future. At Stornello
& Correro Law Firm, PLLC, we are committed to providing
high-quality service to each of our clients. Call us now at 281.369.4506 or fill out a
free case evaluation form to get in touch with our DWI defense attorneys and find out how we can help.
You Can Fight Your Charges!
A large percentage of people who have been arrested for DWI in Houston
make a serious mistake; they give up. Most people think that it's
illegal to drink and drive, so when they're pulled over after having
had a couple of drinks, they assume that they have been caught "red
handed" and have no hope of fighting the charges. This is not the case.
It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or more,
and it is also illegal to drive when one's abilities are impaired
by drugs or alcohol, but it is possible to fight – and win –
a DWI case even if you had been drinking. We can review your case to determine
the best strategy for your
defense, and we are prepared to go the distance to protect your rights.
Penalties for a First-Time DWI in Texas
In most cases, a first-time DWI will be charged as a Class B misdemeanor.
There are minimum mandatory punishments that are associated with this
- Maximum $2,000 fine
- Up to 2 years of community supervision or probation
- Minimum of 72 hours and up to 6 months in county jail
- Minimum of 24 hours of community service
Harsher penalties may be imposed if aggravating conditions are associated
with the defendant's first DWI conviction, such as if you are accused
of causing an accident or while driving drunk. What's more, even one
DWI conviction can lead to tougher charges in the future – meaning
a higher risk of
felony DWI charges. With so much on the line, you can't afford to stand by.
Contact our firm today to fight for your freedom.
Taking Immediate Action After a DWI Arrest
If you were arrested under the suspicion of driving while intoxicated, you
only have fifteen days to request a
hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to protect your ability
to drive. During this hearing, you will have the opportunity to challenge
the administrative suspension of your driver's license. Our firm is
available to represent your best interests and defend your license during
this hearing, as well as throughout the
We understand that your situation may be overwhelming, but it's not
something you have to face alone. Our Fort Bend County criminal defense
attorneys have helped countless people in the past, and we're ready
to answer your questions and offer the help you need.
Call us now to discuss your case.